ANNUAL COUNCIL

MINUTES of the Meeting held in the UKP Leisure Club, Avenue of Remembrance, Sittingbourne, Kent ME10 4DE on Tuesday, 15 May 2018 from 7.24pm - 9.08pm.

PRESENT: Councillors Sarah Aldridge, Cameron Beart, Bobbin, Monique Bonney, Andy Booth, Tina Booth, Lloyd Bowen, Bowles, Derek Conway, Mike Dendor, Duncan Dewar-Whalley, Paul Fleming, Sue Gent, Mike Henderson, Alan Horton, James Hunt, Ken Ingleton (Deputy Mayor), Nigel Kay, Samuel Koffie-Williams (Mayor), Gerry Lewin, Peter Marchington, Prescott, Ken Pugh, David Simmons, Ben Stokes, Lynd Taylor, Roger Truelove, Anita Walker, Ghlin Whelan, Mike Whiting, Ted Wilcox, Tony Winckless and John Wright.

OFFICERS PRESENT: Heather Elliott, Chris Lovelock, Media, Jo Millard and Mark Radford.

APOLOGIES: Councillors Mike Baldock, Roger Clark, Mike Cosgrove, Mick Galvin, James Hall, Nicholas Hampshire, Harrison, Bryan Mulhern and George Samuel.

1 PRAYERS

The retiring Mayor's Chaplain, Reverend Richard Birch, said Prayers.

2 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR

The retiring Mayor advised that the decision to appoint a Mayor-elect was taken at the Council meeting on 21 February 2018, where it was resolved that Councillor Samuel Koffie-Williams be elected Mayor for the civic year 2018 to 2019.

Councillor Mike Dendor gave a speech to support the decision to elect Councillor Samuel Koffie-Williams as Mayor, and Councillor Ken Pugh spoke to endorse the decision.

The Mayor read out and signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office and announced that Mrs Doreen Koffie-Williams would be his Mayoress for the Mayoral Year. Councillor Koffie-Williams and Mrs Koffie-Williams were presented with their badge of office and Mrs Koffie-Williams was presented with flowers.

Resolved:

(1) That the decision made at the Council meeting on 21 February 2018, to elect Councillor Samuel Koffie-Williams as Mayor for the Civic Year 2018 to 2019 be endorsed.

3 THE FORTHCOMING MAYORAL YEAR

The Mayor thanked Members for his election, introduced his Committee and advised that his charities for the year would include working with children and music therapy with the Swale Volunteers Service. He thanked his Mayoress, Mrs Koffie-

Annual Council 15 May 2018

Williams and the retiring Mayor and Mayoress, and outlined his plans for the civic year.

4 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Bowles proposed and Councillor Gerry Lewin seconded a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor. Councillor Bowles drew attention that it was only the fourth time a Mayor had been elected twice and praised the Retiring Mayor and Mayoress for their hard work.

In response, Councillor Prescott advised that there had been 277 Mayoral Engagements in his civic year. He highlighted the trip to Ypres with his Cadet in November 2017 amongst the highlights, and was very proud of the local cadet forces. Other highlights included the passing out parade of Gurkhas in Maidstone, the World War One Ambulance Train from Sittingbourne to Sheppey, and his Civic Service.

Councillor Prescott presented cheques to his charities; £6,000 to Hospital Radio Swale, £4,000 to Parkinson's Support Faversham and £7,250 to Parkinson's Support Sittingbourne and Sheppey.

Councillor Prescott then gave thanks and presented gifts and a certificate to his Cadet, Sargent Shannon Pardoe from the Sittingbourne Air Training Corps and gave thanks and gifts to his Chaplain Reverend Richard Birch and Council staff. He then gave gifts and thanks to members of his Committee who had assisted throughout his Mayoral year.

The Mayor presented Councillor Prescott with a civic shield and scroll and a past Mayor's badge and also presented a past Mayoress's badge and flowers to Mrs Prescott.

5 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor advised that the decision to appoint a Deputy Mayor-elect was taken at the Council meeting on 21 February 2018, where it was resolved that Councillor Ken Ingleton be elected Deputy Mayor for the civic year 2018 to 2019.

Councillor Mike Whiting gave a speech to support the decision to elect Councillor Ingleton as Deputy Mayor, and Councillor Alan Horton spoke to endorse the decision.

The Deputy Mayor read out and signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, and was presented with his badge of office. Mrs Mick Ingleton, Deputy Mayoress, was presented with her badge of office and flowers.

Resolved:

(1) That the decision made at Council on 21 February 2018 to elect Councillor Ken Ingleton as Deputy Mayor for the civic year 2018/19 be endorsed.

Annual Council 15 May 2018

6 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADET

The Mayor announced the appointment of Ordinary Cadet Libby Carew from the Sittingbourne and Milton Sea Cadets as his Cadet for the forthcoming Civic Year, and presented Ordinary Cadet Carew with her Cadet badge.

7 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor announced the appointment of his Chaplain Reverend Lesley Jones, Vicar of St. Michael's Church, Sittingbourne as his Chaplain for the forthcoming year.

8 CONCLUDING PRAYERS

Reverend Lesley Jones concluded the meeting with prayers.

The Mayor reminded Members that the second part of the Annual Council meeting would be held the following evening starting at 7pm in the Council Chamber, Swale House. He then invited all Members and guests to join him for light refreshments.

Chairman

Copies of this document are available on the Council website http://www.swale.gov.uk/dso/. If you would like hard copies or alternative versions (i.e. large print, audio, different language) we will do our best to accommodate your request please contact Swale Borough Council at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT or telephone the Customer Service Centre 01795 417850.

All Minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the Committee/Panel